Pics of prototype!

I already see that this is the first version and there are modifications necessary for this thing to be built by anyone and to be ready for the pot holed streets of New York! I may put a mock version of what I want the final prototype to look like in the future. The front wheels need another piece of tube to hold it without bending the steel rod. I have to make another model since I don’t see how I can put another tube on the outside of the wheels and have it hold firmly to the rest of the front frame.

The back wheel holds well because the two poles are allowing for equal weight distribution.  The front wheels don't allow for equal weight distribution and cause the steel rod to bend.

The back wheel holds well because the two poles are allowing for equal weight distribution.
The front wheels don’t allow for equal weight distribution and cause the steel rod to bend.

first final prototype 91715

I used steel rods and put a nut around the middle of the rod to strengthen it. I then wrapped it with rubber bands and made “joy stick” handles.

I was able to even get a test drive down an incline! The only thing was it was a very short test drive as the wheel came off because of the rubber band/tape mixture on the steel rod rotted off. I was able to steer which got me excited so I know that the handles work.

So I finally think this is a working prototype that needs one adjustment: the front wheels have to be held like the back wheels. I noticed too much weight is on one side of the wheel.

20150917_124231

*Please note that I’m learning about electric motors and batteries as well as studying chess and ways of teaching chess. I don’t want to get a brain overload but playing chess is helping me to work on the trike logically and see easy ways to put the trike together.*

Leave a Reply

