Pedal power

I have been working on making a trike that has pedals for 2 reasons: 1) I’ve been seeing bikes up for grabs for cheap 2) It’s costly to figure out how to put an electric motor on the trike with LiPo batteries.

I found a bike and cut off the area where the crankset is and attached to my trike. I used self tapping screws to hold the bike’s crankset to the front of the trike. It seems it needs more self tapping screws since the crankset shifts when the pedals do about 2 revolutions. I have 3 self tapping screws in a part of the frame that is attached to the crankset (pics are below). I believe 2 or 3 more should solidify the crankset to the rest of the trike.

The bike chain rubs against itself and I tried to use PVC pipes to keep them from rubbing. I have to find a better method of having the PVC pipes from moving around so that the chain can slide through with ease.

side-pic-of-trikefront-pic-of-trike

Leave a Reply

